Camouflage – “The Great Commandment”

“The Great Commandment” was the debut single from the German syntpop band, Camouflage, and it appears on their debut album, Voices & Images. If the Wikipedia entry for this song is to be believed, “The Great Commandment” peaked at number fifty-nine on the U.S. pop chart in 1988.

I remember being exposed to this song back in the 8th grade, when MTV was playing the music video rather consistently in the morning before I left for school. I fell in love with the song instantly, and I thought it was rather catchy. As I listened to the lyrics and figured out what it was saying, I realized that it was a catchy song with something kind of serious to say. This song has remained a favorite of mine for over 20 years, and I don’t think I’ll like it any less anytime soon.

The music video is rather interesting. Aesthetically, it kind of makes me think of silent films, except for the fact that there’s no title cards with text. The video is telling a story, where there’s a group of children watching some kind of a spokesperson. The band members are amongst the crowd, and appear to be protesting the spokesperson. It turns out there’s more to the spokesperson than meets the eye, and it ends up being one of the kids who inadvertently reveals the truth. I’m not going to say what happens, because that would be a spoiler.

You can experience the song and video four yourself, because I’m embedding a YouTube stream of the video below. Feel free to leave a comment and share your thoughts on the song or the music video!

Leave a Reply

