Band Review: New Order

Even though New Order was formed after the end of Joy Division in 1980, my first exposure to the group didn’t come until 1987. I was in seventh grade then, and I remember hearing the song “True Faith” on the radio and seeing the video in pretty heavy rotation on MTV. While I thought the video was rather strange, I absolutely fell in love with the song; it turned out “True Faith” was a new song on the Substance greatest hits album. The next studio album, Technique, came out in 1989. However, I really have no memory of hearing any of the songs off the album during the time it was out. At some point in there, my sister bought the CD of Substance, and I remember liking “Blue Monday” and “Bizarre Love Triangle” when I heard them on the CD.

My next memory of New Order came in 1993, when I heard “Regret” on the radio. It’s a song I fell in love with instantly, and was very happy to see how well the song performed on the pop charts. I later found out that a follow-up single, “World (Price Of Love)” was released, but I never heard it on my local top 40 radio station. About a couple of years later, I started hanging out with the guy who would eventually be my husband. He’s into New Order, and so I learned a little more about the band from him. It was through him that I finally heard songs off the Technique album.

My favorite songs released up to that point in their career include: “Ceremony,” “Temptation,” “Blue Monday,” “Confusion,” “Shellshock,” “Bizarre Love Triangle,” “True Faith,” “Fine Time,” “Round And Round,” “Vanishing Point,” “Dream Attack,” “Let’s Go (Nothing For Me),” “Age Of Consent,” “Love Vigilantes,” “1963,” “Regret,” “World (The Price of Love),” and “World In Motion.”

The band took a hiatus after the Republic album. Bernard Sumner teamed up once again with Johnny Marr for his Electronic side project; Electronic had previously released an album in 1990. Peter Hook formed Monaco, and the other two members of New Order formed the group The Other Two.

After a roughly nine-year hiatus, New Order released another album in 2001 titled, Get Ready. The lead-off single was “Crystal.” While it was quite a different song sonically from what the band put out before, I really liked it. There were two other singles, “60 Miles An Hour” and “Someone Like You“; unfortunately, I haven’t heard either of them, so I really can’t give an opinion on them.

In 2005, New Order released Waiting for the Sirens’ Call. Three singles were released from the album: “Krafty,” “Jetstream,” and “Waiting For The Sirens’ Call.” “Krafty” and “Waiting for the Sirens’ Call” sound more like “typical” New Order songs compared to “Crystal.” That’s not to say that they’re bad, because I enjoy both of these songs a lot. However, they sound a lot more like what New Order’s fans would expect the band’s material to sound like. “Jetstream” features vocals by Ana Matronic from the Scissor Sisters, and sounds more like a dance track when compared to “Krafty” and “Waiting for the Sirens’ Call.” “Jetstream” is a catchy song, and I enjoyed it a lot. My husband checked out the album from the library and we listened to it. Outside of the three singles, not much else really grabbed us. We have yet to pick up this album for our own collection; we have the CD singles for the three singles.

In 2007, Peter Hook left the band; at the time, he made a statement that said that he and Bernard Sumner had no further plans to work together. In 2009, Sumner had said that he no longer wished to make music as New Order. After hearing Waiting for the Sirens’ Call, perhaps it is indeed time for New Order to call it a day. While the more recent material they’ve released hasn’t been bad, it hasn’t entirely been up to the level of the band’s earlier material. If for some reason New Order ever did get back together at some point in the future and released new material, I would be willing to give that material a chance.

Leave a Reply

