Song Review: 4 Non Blondes – “What’s Up”

4 Non Blondes was a band from San Francisco, California that formed in 1989. They had their biggest hit in 1993 with “What’s Up?,” which was released as the third single from their album, Bigger, Better, Faster More! Unfortunately, the band disbanded in 1994 while recording their second album.

Lead singer Linda Perry launched a solo career in 1995, but she has become better known in recent years as a songwriter and producer. She is best known for working with Pink on her 2001 album, Missundaztood. Perry has also worked with such artists as Gwen Stefani, Courtney Love, Christina Aguilera, and Kelly Osbourne.

I have to admit that I personally didn’t care much for “What’s Up” when it was getting all the radio play and MTV airtime in 1993. However, over the past 10 years or so, I’ve come to better appreciate this song, and I actually really like it now. Maybe I didn’t like it much back in 1993 due to how much airplay it was getting, or maybe I’ve come to better appreciate it now because I better relate to the lyrics of the song. Unfortunately, 4 Non Blondes became a one-hit wonder in the mainstream. Like Blind Melon, pop radio only wanted another “What’s Up,” and that just wasn’t to be found on the album.

Earlier this year, my husband picked up a copy of the Bigger, Better, Faster, More! album, and it’s actually quite good. After listening to it, I was able to come to the conclusion that I did regarding 4 Non Blondes being a one-hit wonder in the mainstream. While “What’s Up” is my favorite song on the album, I do also enjoy “Spaceman” quite a bit.

Leave a Reply

