Song Review: Depeche Mode – “Walking in My Shoes”

“Walking in My Shoes” was the second single released from Depeche Mode’s 1993 album, Songs of Faith and Devotion album. Um, wait… did I just type 1993? Why, yes… yes I did. Yeesh! It’s hard to believe Songs of Faith and Devotion is that old already!

Ahem. Anyway, “Walking in My Shoes” is one of my favorite songs by Depeche Mode; however, it’s not my favorite song overall, because that honor belongs to “Enjoy the Silence.” Unfortunately, “Walking in My Shoes” only managed to peak at number 69 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart. Bummer.

I believe that what initially attracted me to this song was its message about not judging others unless you’ve walked in their shoes. The combination of the song’s message, along with the musical arrangement, work together well to create a powerful piece. Even 20 years later, as I’m getting close to pushing 40, I still can appreciate this song immensely.

The music video, on the other hand, is… how can I put this? A little odd, I guess. To be honest, there’s only one element that truly makes sense to me in this video in connection with the song itself. The rest of the video, however, just kind of feels like random images that were thrown together to fill out the video. Considering this video was directed by Anton Corbijn, what else would you expect, right?

Leave a Reply

