Song Review: The Shamen – “Move Any Mountain”

“Move Any Mountain” was released as a single from The Shamen’s 1991 album, En-Tact. About three months prior to the release of the “Move Any Mountain” single, band member Will Sinnott drowned and died in Tenerife while the band was there to film the video for “Move Any Mountain.”

“Move Any Mountain” ended up becoming a Top 40 hit for the band in the United States, when it peaked at number 38 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart. A vivid memory I have of this particular song is from an episode of the television series, Life Goes On. The character of Becca, along with some friends, is helping to pain a mural, and the song is playing in the background.

I fell in love with this song when I heard it in early 1992, at first because of its catchy beat. As I really listened to the lyrics, though, I came to understand how much of an uplifting and positive message this song has. This still remains a favorite song of mine, over 20 years later. The years have not lessened my appreciation for this song.

Normally, I don’t do this, but I’d like to share the lyrics of this song, so you can get a better appreciation for its message:

Move any mountain, move any mountain

I will not fail nor falter, I shall succeed
My perception is altered, I do believe
Faith is so strong now nothing shall bar my way
Firm conviction is no fiction
This is my day

I can move move move any mountain
I can move move move any mountain
I can move move move any mountain

I walk so tall, ascending I stand so high
Earth below me revolving above the sky
I feel no fear to be here is oh so fine
Shining brightly, like sunlight inside my mind

Well you know that any mountain is capable of moving
The Shamen and the new generation who are proving
You can be what you want to be
Let your soul and your body and your mind be free
Well never mind, we all are that
And going all the way is where I’m at
With delivery smooth like water from a fountain
That’s why I can move any mountain
Move any mountain

I can move move move any mountain
I can move move move any mountain
I can move move move any mountain
I can move move move any mountain
Move any mountain
Move any mountain

Future feeling, new sensation
Body is rocking and the mind is reeling
And rolling race changing motion
Flowing like a river into the ocean
Better get yourself ready for the next transition
‘Cause the time is right for a new vibration
My vision, one nation, one tribe
One day’ll come the might to move any mountain

Move any mountain
Move any mountain
I can move move move any mountain

I walk so tall, ascending I stand so high
Earth below me revolving above the sky
I feel no fear to be here is oh so fine
Shining brightly, like sunlight inside my mind

I can move move move any mountain
I can move move move any mountain
I can move move move any mountain
I can move move move any mountain
I can move move move any mountain
I can move move move any mountain
I can move move move any mountain

Admittedly, the music video is essentially a “club video,” so it’s not anything terribly groundbreaking, but it works.

Leave a Reply

