My Favorite Madonna Songs

I’ve been listening to Madonna for over twenty years, so I’ve accumulated a number of favorite songs over the years.  I’ll work at trying to choose one song from each of her studio albums (greatest hits albums and the You Can Dance and I’m Breathless albums are being skipped).  Unfortunately, this also means that I have to skip “Crazy for You” and “Into the Groove,” since they never actually appeared on one of Madonna’s studio albums.

From Madonna’s self-titled album, my favorite song is “Borderline.”  It’s the most “pop” song on an album that was definitely aimed more at the dance scene of the time.  By sounding different, it makes the song stand out on the album; however, it stands out in a good way.  Of all the songs on Madonna’s debut album, I’ve always been able to associate with this one the best.

On the Like a Virgin album, my favorite song is the ballad “Love Don’t Live Here Anymore.”  While all the songs on the album are good, there’s just something about Madonna’s vocal performance on this particular song that makes it stand out.  By the end of the song, you’re convinced that Madonna means what she’s singing.

On the True Blue album, my favorite song is the opening song, “Papa Don’t Preach.”  I’ve always admired the fact that Madonna was releasing to record and release a song that dealt with the topic of teen pregnancy.

On the Like a Prayer album, my favorite song would be “Oh Father.”  I’ve always liked the haunting sound of the song, and how Madonna’s vocals complement the music.

My favorite song on the Erotica album would be the underrated “Bad Girl.”  While this song may not be one of Madonna’s bigger singles, I’ve always liked the sound of this particular song.  The video for this particular song also adds to its appeal for me.

On Bedtime Stories, my favorite song is the album closer, “Take a Bow.”  I’ve always liked the lyrical imagery of this song (comparing the end of a relationship with the closing with a show on the stage).

Ray of Light is my favorite Madonna album of all-time, and it’s hard to necessarily choose one song as my favorite.  But, after some deliberation, I have to say that “Frozen” would have to be my favorite.  I like how Madonna was able to take an electronic sound that is usually considered to be “cold” and “unemotional” and inject emotion into the song through her vocal performance.

On Music, my favorite song would be “Runaway Lover.”  To me, this has always been one of the strongest songs on this album, and I’m disappointed that it was never released as a single.  William Orbit did a great production job on this song, and it’s one of the most enjoyable songs to listen to on the album.

On American Life, my favorite song is “Hollywood” (however, I prefer the radio edit to the album version, because the radio edit removes the “push the button, change the channel…” part that appears near the end of the album version that I find to be a little annoying).  To me, it’s one of the best sounding songs on the whole album.

My favorite song on Confessions on a Dance Floor is “Sorry.”  It’s a very fun and upbeat number, with a message in its lyrics that I like.  I’ve always been disappointed that this song did not perform better on the pop charts than it did.

On Hard Candy, my favorite song is “Miles Away.”  On an album that tries too hard to sound urban, this song stands out for being one of the most “pop” songs on the album.  Also, of the songs that appear on the album, it’s probably the one I can relate to the best.

On MDNA, my favorite song is “Falling Free,” because it really stands out in comparison to the rest of the songs on the album. While the two main singles, “Give Me All Your Luvin’” and “Girl Gone Wild” are decent enough songs, they just aren’t as strong as “Falling Free.” When all is said and done, MDNA wasn’t one of Madonna’s better albums.

Madonna has done a wide variety of music and styles during her career, and obviously, I like more than what I included here.  But if I were to sit down and try to write about all the Madonna songs I like, this would probably start evolving into a novel.

Leave a Reply

