My Favorite Songs

People who know me well know that I have quite an eclectic taste in music. Here’s some of the songs that have attracted me over the years:

The Alarm – “Presence of Love”: From their 1987 album, Eye of the Hurricane.  This is a beautiful love song.

Anything Box – “Living in Oblivion”: From their 1990 album, Peace.  I fell in love with this song the first time I heard it on the radio, and it remains my favorite song by Anything Box.

Aqua – “Cartoon Heroes”: From their second album, Aquarius.  The song is in the same simple dance-pop vein of their first album, but the theme of this song has to do with comic books and superheroes.

Cause & Effect – “It’s Over Now (It’s Alright)”: From their 1994 album, Trip.  Be careful if you’re listening to this one while driving… in the opening, it sounds like you hear a police siren.

Color Theory – “Everything I Thought I Had to Be”: A gem from the underground synthpop scene, and I really like the message in this song.  “Everything I Thought I Had to Be” is from Color Theory’s 2001 album, Life’s Fairytale.

The Cure – “Fascination Street”: While this may not have been a big mainstream hit, I heard it a lot on my local pop station back in 1989.  It stood out compared to the other songs being played on the radio at the time, but I loved it.  “Fascination Street” is from The Cure’s 1989 album, Disintegration.

Depeche Mode – “Enjoy the Silence”: The second single from their 1990 album, Violator, and the biggest hit of the band’s career.  I can relate to the lyrics of this song quite a bit.

Duran Duran – “Too Much Information”: The third single from their 1993 self-titled album, which has also become known as “The Wedding Album” over the years.  I really appreciate the theme of this song, which is attacking the media.

The Echoing Green – “The Story of Our Lives”: This is a slice of synthpop heaven.  The song starts out slowly, but as it goes, it gains in intensity; at its climax, a soaring soprano vocal provided by Jenna London takes the song to “the next level”; the listener literally gets chills down their spine when Jenna’s vocal enters the mix.  “The Story of Our Lives” is from The Echoing Green’s 2003 album, The Winter of Our Discontent.

Erasure – “Brother and Sister”: From their 1989 album, Wild!  I call this “the single that should have been,” because it was a very “pop friendly” song; in fact, it was more “pop friendly” than some of the actual singles released from the album.

Debbie Gibson – “For Better or Worse”: The lead-off single from her fifth album, 1995’s Think With Your Heart.  It’s a beautiful piano-based ballad, and this was my wedding song.

Hungry Lucy – “To Kill a King”: Vocalist Christa Belle’s performance on this song is just incredible.  “To Kill a King” is from the duo’s 2004 album of the same name.

Information Society – “What’s On Your Mind (Pure Energy)”: The song that broke the doors open for Information Society in the mainstream back in 1988.  It’s from their self-titled album, and it includes some samples from Star Trek.

Intuition – “So Easy”: Another gem from the underground synthpop scene, and it’s from the duo’s 2003 album, Further.

Billy Joel – “We Didn’t Start the Fire”: A history lesson in song.  It’s from his 1989 album, Storm Front.

Howard Jones – “The Prisoner”: The second single from his 1989 album, Cross That Line.  I’ve always liked some the visual imagery in the lyrics of this song.

Madonna – “Live to Tell”: The song appeared on her 1986 album, True Blue.  This was a powerful ballad, and it was a different thing for her to record at that time.  It’s a song that moved me back then, and I still feel it’s one of the best ballads of her career.

New Order – “True Faith”: This was the first song I ever heard by New Order, back when it was a single in 1987.  There was something about it that grabbed me at the time, and it’s a song I still enjoy immensely today.

Orchestral Manoeuvres in the dark – “If You Leave”: From the 1980s film, Pretty in Pink.  There was just something about this song that grabbed me at the time, and it’s a song I still love today.

P.M. Dawn – “Set Adrift on Memory Bliss”: The first song I ever heard from this hip-hop duo, and it samples Spandau Ballet’s “True.”  It was a song that stood out on the radio, and caught the listener’s attention.  The song comes from their 1991 debut album, Of the Heart, of the Soul, and of the Cross: The Utopian Experience.

Pet Shop Boys – “It’s A Sin”: The lead-off single from their second album, Actually.  It was another one of those that just caught my attention when I heard it on the radio, and it remains a favorite today.

R.E.M. – “The One I Love”: The first song I ever heard by R.E.M., back in 1987.  It’s one that grabbed me back in the day, and it’s a song that I still like a lot today.

Roxette – “The Look”: The first song I ever heard from Roxette, and it was a single from their album, Look Sharp!  The song has a “timeless” sound to it, and it remains a favorite today.

Peter Schilling – “The Different Story (World of Lust and Crime)”: I heard my local top 40 radio station playing this in early 1989.  It was different from a lot of what was out on pop radio at the time, so that’s probably why it grabbed my attention.

Seal – “Kiss from a Rose”: From Seal’s second album, and it was also from the soundtrack of the 1995 Batman film, Batman Forever.  It’s an incredible and powerful ballad.

Survivor – “The Search is Over”: From their 1984 album, Vital Signs.  There’s just something about the simplicity of this ballad that grabbed me at the time.  Even at almost thirty years later, I still have an appreciation for this song.

U2 – “I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For”: From the band’s 1987 album, The Joshuia Tree.  This is one of the first songs I remember hearing from U2, and it remains one my favorite songs by the band today.

When In Rome – “The Promise”: I heard my local Top 40 station playing this song in late 1988/early 1989.  I absolutely fell in love with the song at the time, and it’s a song that I have continued to enjoy over the years.

Leave a Reply

