Single Review: Daniel Bedingfield – “James Dean (I Wanna Know)”

“James Dean (I Wanna Know)” was a single released from Daniel Bedingfield’s 2002 album, Gotta Get Through This.

This is a dance song about a man trying to get a woman’s attention, and hopes that by being “cool,” that she’ll notice him. Since this song was written in the early 2000s, his “cool” references are being the “James Dean of the music scene,” “flashing a Brad Pitt smile,” and “wearing Versace ‘cause that’s my style”).

Personally, I really like how this song flows and how the song sounds. And unlike Daniel’s previous single, “Gotta Get Thru This,” this song does not use the extremely processed vocals. It’s too bad that this song didn’t perform better on the U.S. pop chart.
The second track on this single is, “Gotta Get Thru This [Acoustic Version].” This is just Daniel Bedingfield’s voice and an acoustic guitar; the guitar is played by Mark Johns. The song works very well in this acoustic arrangement, and shows that Daniel is capable of doing more with his songs than just dance music.

The third track is “James Dean (I Wanna Know) [ATFC’s Committed Vocal]”; personally, I didn’t care too much for this version of the song. The mix is too long, all the vocals are processed, and the mix utilizes choppy vocals during long instrumental sections. I would have preferred this mix if it was shorter, didn’t process the vocals, and didn’t use the choppy vocals.

This single is an enhanced CD. It includes the video for “James Dean (I Wanna Know),” album information (which includes sound samples for “Blown It Again,” “Gotta Get Thru This,” “If You’re Not The One,” and “Friday”), a photo gallery (which is more like a slideshow that is in an endless loop), a biography, wallpaper, and lyrics for “James Dean (I Wanna Know).”

Overall, I can only recommend the first two tracks from this single; in which case, I would suggest buying the American version of the Gotta Get Thru This album, since they are both easily available on that release. I would only recommend getting this single if someone is a Daniel Bedingfield collector.

I wrote this review after listening to a copy of the “James Dean (I Wanna Know)” single that my husband and I purchased.

Leave a Reply

