Song Review: Taylor Dayne – “With Every Beat of My Heart”

“With Every Beat of My Heart” was the lead-off single for Taylor Dayne’s second album, Can’t Fight Fate. The single was released in the United States on October 10, 1989, and it peaked at #5 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart.

When I first heard this song on the radio back in 1989, it caught my attention immediately. While it was still dance pop like a lot of the material on her first album, there was something about the arrangement that made it sound a little tighter and it sounded very pop accessible. Now that I’m older and listening to the material from Can’t Fight Fate now, I realize that the material on this album was pop material with a dance lean. With her first album, Tell It To My Heart, the material tended to be dance material with a pop lean.

“With Every Beat of My Heart” is a nice, upbeat song I enjoy listening to, but it’s not my favorite single from Can’t Fight Fate. I’m planning on covering my favorite single off the album a little further down the line.

I watched the video for “With Every Beat of My Heart” on YouTube after not seeing it for a number of years. After seeing it, I was like, “Wow, this is video is just so random.” It’s basically shots of Taylor Dayne intercut with very random images (like an old guy dancing in his underwear, a Dalmatian walking across a room, a bride and groom getting drenched with water, a vase of flowers falling over… I think you get the picture). I really like the song, but the music video… not so much.

Leave a Reply

