Song Review: The Cover Girls – “We Can’t Go Wrong”

“We Can’t Go Wrong” was the title track for The Cover Girls’ second album, and it was released as the second single. The single ended up peaking at number eight on the Billboard Hot 100.

I was 14 years old and in the ninth grade when this single was released. This is one of those songs that my local Top 40 station really didn’t play in regular rotation at the time, so my only exposure to it was hearing it every week on the Rick Dees Weekly Top 40 or seeing the music video on television. I have to admit that at the time I didn’t think it was bad song, but it wasn’t one that really did much for me; it probably didn’t help that I wasn’t hearing it regularly on the radio.

Listening to the song 25 years later, I realize that the song is better than I had given it credit for. It’s a love song, but he musical arrangement for this is actually rather powerful. Also, the music video tries to transcend a typical “love song” by showing children interacting positively with one another; the video adds another layer to the song which makes it more powerful than it would have been.

Leave a Reply

