Song Review: Bad English – “When I See You Smile”

“When I See You Smile” was released as the second single from Bad English’s 1989 self-titled album. The single was released on September 16, 1989, and peaked at number one on the Billboard Hot 100 chart. “When I See You Smile” was the band’s only number one hit.

I was 14 years old and in the ninth grade when this song was released. It’s a power ballad that leans much more to the softer side than a lot of power ballads at the time were. It’s got a very simply sentiment, but one that resonates just as much with teenagers as it does with adults. It may be 25 years later, but I like “When I See You Smile” just as much as I did when I was a teenager. Honestly, it’s really not that surprising that it became a number one hit.

The music video is simply the band performing on stage. While it would have been nice to have some kind of a storyline intercut with it, this is still a rather well-done performance video.

Leave a Reply

