Song Review: D Mob – “C’mon And Get My Love”

“C’mon and Get My Love” was released as a single from D Mob’s A Little Bit of This, A Little Bit of That album from 1989. The single went on to peak at number 10 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart, and it ended up being the only hit for D Mob in the United States. “That’s The Way of the World,” which was released as the follow-up to “C’mon And Get My Love” in the U.S., didn’t make any noticeable impact on the charts.

While D Mob ended up being a “one hit wonder” in the United States, it helped launch the career of Cathy Dennis, the woman who sings lead vocals on “C’mon And Get My Love.” She went on to have a solo career and had some pop success in 1991 and 1992.

I was 14 and in the ninth grade when “C’mon And Get My Love” was released, and I fell in love with this song the first time I heard it. It’s a very catchy and fun dance song that also has lyrics that resonate with pop listeners. If I had made a chart of my favorite songs from my freshman year of high school, “C’mon And Get My Love” would have definitely made the list somewhere. Even 25 years later, I still enjoy this song and have a soft spot for it.

The music video is also fun and very memorable. You can basically think of it as the music video shoot from hell; anything that could go wrong was going wrong. But what really makes it funny is the fact that Cathy Dennis and her backup dancers just dance and lip-sync to the song while all these things are going on around them and appearing to be oblivious and nonplussed. And then right at the end, as they finish their dancing, they finally notice that the set is a shambles and you can see on their faces that they’re trying to figure out what happened. In some respects, it’s a little cheesy, but it’s still an enjoyable video to watch.

Leave a Reply

