Song Review: Janet Jackson – “Escapade”

“Escapade” was released as the third single from Janet Jackson’s 1989 album, Janet Jackson’s Rhythm Nation 1814. The single was released on January 8, 1990, and went on to peak at number one of the Billboard Hot 100 chart.

I was 14 years old and in the ninth grade when this single was released, and I absolutely loved the song the first time I heard it. Considering how much I liked “Miss You Much” and “Rhythm Nation,” it doesn’t surprise me that I really liked “Escapade” as well. “Escapade” is such a fun and upbeat song, and when I was a teenager, it helped me to temporarily forget any stresses and worries I was going through at the time. About 25 years later, I still love this song a lot and I want to move to it and dance whenever I hear it.

The music video can be summed up in one word: fun. It so perfectly fits the celebratory feel of the song. The video is set in a Mardi Gras-like carnival in an exotic environment, and it includes some well done choreography.

Leave a Reply

