Song Review: Billy Joel – “I Go to Extremes”

“I Go to Extremes” was released as the second single from Billy Joel’s 1989 album, Storm Front. The single was released in late 1989, and peaked at number six on the Billboard Hot 100 chart.

I was 14 years old and in the ninth grade when this single was released. I loved this song from the first moment I ever heard it played on the radio, and it remains one of my favorite Billy Joel songs almost 25 years later. It’s an upbeat song that I think is fun to listen to. I also love the lyrics and how Billy delivers them. But what really makes this song is Billy’s piano playing; “I Go to Extremes” is one the songs in his catalog that perfectly shows why Billy has been dubbed “The Piano Man.”

The music video is essentially Billy Joel jamming with a group of people in an upper floor of a building. It may not sound like much from the description, but watching Billy and the others jamming to this song, they really look as if they’re having a great time. Most of the footage in the video is in black and white, although the occasional color shot appears. To me, these occasional color shots add something to the video.

Leave a Reply

