Song Review: Michael Penn – “No Myth”

“No Myth” was released as Michael Penn’s debut single from his 1989 album, March. The single was released in November 1989, and peaked at number 13 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart. “No Myth” ended up being Michael Penn’s only hit, making him a one-hit wonder of the late 1980s/early 1990s. He is also the brother of actors Sean and Chris Penn.

I was 14 years old and in the ninth grade when this song came out. I have to admit that I didn’t care a lot for it at the time it was a current single; it probably didn’t help that MTV played this video in rather heavy rotation. It’s a song I came to gain a greater appreciation for a couple of years later. I watched the video before writing this post, and it’s the first time I’d heard it nearly 20 years since it’s one of those songs that never seems to get recurrent rotation on radio. Listening to it now, I realize that it was a little ahead of its time sonically. To be honest, if this song had come out a couple of years later, it might have performed a little better on the charts.

At the time the song was out. I found the music video to be a little strange. Now that I’m older I can see that there is a story that’s trying to be told throughout this video. It’s kind of a strange story, but there’s still a narrative there nonetheless.

Leave a Reply

