Song Review: Whitesnake – “The Deeper the Love”

“The Deeper the Love” was released as the second single from Whitesnake’s 1989 album, Slip of the Tongue. The single was released in early 1990 and peaked at number 28 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart.

I was 14 years old and in the ninth grade when this single was released. At the time, I thought it was an OK power ballad, but it just wasn’t another “Is This Love” (the big power ballad from the band’s 1987 self-titled album). While I didn’t dislike the song, it wasn’t one I’d go out of my way to listen to at the time, either. But as I got older and had experienced a little more of life and actually being in a relationship, I was able to find a better appreciation for this song than I did when I was 14. It’s not what I’d consider a classic power ballad, but it’s not a bad song for what it’s trying to do.

The music video features the band performing, intercut with footage of lead singer David Coverdale walking down a hallway and footage of David’s then-wife, actress Tawny Kitaen. It’s not bad for the type of video it is, but it’s definitely not as memorable as “Here I Go Again.”

Leave a Reply

