Song Review: Elton John – “Sacrifice”

“Sacrifice” was released as the second single from Elton John’s 1989 album, Sleeping With the Past. The single peaked at number 18 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart.

I was 14 years old and in the ninth grade when this single was released. I have to admit that back then, I wasn’t a huge fan of this song. I didn’t think it was bad, per se, but it just didn’t grab me as much as “Healing Hands,” the lead-off single from the album, had. I think it was a case where I was just a little too young to fully appreciate the lyrics and meaning of this ballad. As I’ve gotten older and listened to this song as an adult, I’ve come to have a greater appreciation for “Sacrifice.”

The music video portrays a married couple having problems in their relationship. It ultimately shows the woman leaving the relationship, which leaves the husband to raise their daughter on his own. The footage from the storyline is intercut with footage of Elton John lip-synching the song. It’s a good video for what it’s trying to accomplish, and it fits in well with both the mood and lyrics of the song.

Leave a Reply

