Song Review: Lisa Stansfield – “All Around the World”

“All Around the World” was released as a single from Lisa Stansfield’s 1989 album, Affection. The single was released in the United States on January 12, 1990, and peaked at number three on the Billboard Hot 100 chart.

I was 14 years old and in the ninth grade when this song was released. I admit that at the time, I didn’t really care for it much; I think it was due in large part to the chorus. Also, at the time, I thought she was someone new that I’d never heard before. But I later learned that while this was the first time I heard her as a solo artist, it wasn’t the first time I’d her sing! When I was in the eighth grade, I really liked a song called “Jackie” by Blue Zone UK. It turns out that the woman singing lead vocals on that was Lisa Stansfield (although she sounds a little different than she does on her solo material); to be honest, if I’d heard it announced at the time that she was the vocalist for “Jackie,” I probably would have given this song more of a chance.

Once I heard the song in recurrent play after not hearing it constantly on the radio and MTV, I realized the song was actually much better than I had given it credit for. Musically, it’s actually rather catchy, and Lisa’s vocal delivery is rather soulful.

Admittedly, the music video isn’t terribly impressive. It’s basically Lisa lip-synching the song in two or three different locations. But when you think about what the lyrics are saying, they really couldn’t have done much more than what they did for it. It’s not too bad for what it is, but it’s just not an outstanding music video.

One thought on “Song Review: Lisa Stansfield – “All Around the World”

Leave a Reply

