Song Review: Blue Zone – “Jackie”

“Jackie” was released as a single from Blue Zone’s 1988 album, Big Thing. The single was released in North America on July 26, 1988, and peaked at number 54 on the Billboard Hot 100. This song features lead vocals by Lisa Stansfield, who would go on to become more recognized for her solo career. I just learned from doing some research that Blue Zone’s recording of “Jackie” is a cover of a song performed by Elisa Fiorillo that appeared on the soundtrack to the 1987 film, Summer School.

I was 13 years old and in the eighth grade when “Jackie” was released; however, when it was released here, the band was credited as Blue Zone UK. I remember falling in love with this song when I heard it on the radio, because it was so catchy. When I watched the video for this song before working on this writeup, it had been over 20 years since I had last heard. Believe it or not, I enjoyed it just as much now as I did when I was 13. And now knowing that this was from earlier in Lisa Stansfield’s career, it helped me to appreciate this song a little more than I did in 1988.

When it comes to the music video, it’s primarily Lisa lip-synching the song, although there are occasional shots of her lying in a bed. With the band’s name being Blue Zone, it shouldn’t be too surprising to know that there was an emphasis on blue in the lighting for the video. And when I watched the video right before writing this, I also caught on to the fact that the sheet on the bed that Lisa is laying on is also blue. Admittedly, the video isn’t anything terribly spectacular, but it works for what it’s trying to do.

Leave a Reply

