Song Review: Joan Jett – “Dirty Deeds”

“Dirty Deeds” was released as the first single from Joan Jett’s 1990 album, The Hit List. This album was an album of cover songs, and “Dirty Deeds” was a cover of the AC/DC song, “Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap.” Joan managed to have a modestly successful single with this song.

I was 14 years old and in the ninth grade when this single was released. I wasn’t familiar with the AC/DC recording at the time, so I had nothing to compare it to. I enjoyed Joan Jett’s rendition, and it was definitely one my favorite rock songs to come out in early 1990. I’ve since heard AC/DC’s original, and I have to say that Joan did a decent cover of it.

The music video is basically Joan Jett and her band performing on a brightly-lit stage, with the occasional cutaway to Joan by herself as she lip syncs the song in a couple of different locations and outfits. Considering the type of song this is, I really wouldn’t have expected much of anything else for the video. And for a “performance” video, it’s not too bad for what it is.

Leave a Reply

