Best Love Songs

When you’re in a relationship with someone, there usually ends up being a love song that represents your relationship. I enjoy music from a lot of different genres and from several different decades. but over the years, these songs have remained some of my favorite love songs:

Bryan Adams – “Heaven”: This was the big “power ballad” single from Bryan Adam’s 1984 album, Reckless. I first heard this back in the mid-1980s, when I was in late elementary school. Over the years, as I got older and started understanding more about relationships, this song made an even stronger impression on me than when I first heard it. While it may be a ballad, it’s very celebratory in its tone. It’s no wonder why, in the early 2000s, DJ Sammy came up with a dance cover version of “Heaven.”

Chicago – “You’re the Inspiration”: This was another song that I first heard in the mid-1980s. It was one of the last Chicago hits to feature Peter Cetera before he left the group. While Peter’s solo song, “Glory of Love,” was a strong contender to make this list, I ultimately ended up going with “You’re the Inspiration.” Like “Heaven,” it was one of those songs that made an even stronger impression on me as I got older. I have always liked how the song talks about how the other person in the relationship inspires the speaker, and how they will love that person until the end of time.

Jim Croce – “Time in a Bottle”: This song originally came out in the 1970s, and it’s one I grew up hearing through my parents. For me, it wasn’t until the mid-1990s when this song became one of my top ten love songs. It’s a song my husband and I both enjoy. For me, I like how the song talks about how, if the speaker could save time in a bottle, they would save and cherish the moments they have had with their significant other.

Celine Dion – “Because You Loved Me”: This song came out in 1996, and was the theme song for the film Up Close and Personal. While Celine is known for recording many love songs over the years, I believe this is one of her best. It conveys the emotion of love without becoming too overly sappy and saccharine. I also appreciate how the message of the song is about how the speaker has become who they are because of their significant other.

Marvin Gaye and Tammi Terrell – “Ain’t No Mountain High Enough”: A classic Motown song from the 1960s. My first exposure to this song actually came through the “DTV” clips that the Disney Channel aired back in the early 1980s; these were music videos made using footage from various productions in Disney’s vaults. This particular DTV clip made a strong impression on me as a kid, and I came to love the song. It was nice to finally get a copy of it on a compilation CD. What I’ve come to like about this song is how the speakers talk about how no obstacles that get in their way will keep them apart.

Elton John – “Your Song”: This song originally came out in the very early 1970s, but I don’t personally have any real memory of it until the mid-1990s. This is one that my husband introduced me to, and it’s become one of “our” songs. I really like the simplicity of this song, and I especially like the lines, “I hope you don’t mind that I put down in words how wonderful life is while you’re in the world.”

Journey – “Faithfully”: This is another “power ballad” from the 1980s. This is one of those songs that I grew to truly appreciate as I got older. I like how the main theme of the song is “I’m forever yours, faithfully.” It’s a simple song about being faithful, but the message is delivered in such a way that it doesn’t sound like a “simple love song.”

Mike Reno and Ann Wilson – “Almost Paradise”: This duet was released as a single in the mid-1980s from the Footloose soundtrack. It’s a very powerful “power ballad” duet, where the speakers share their feelings for one another. This is one of those songs that is really appropriate in the very early stages of a relationship.

REO Speedwagon – “Can’t Fight This Feeling”: This is another “power ballad” that I first heard in the mid-1980s. I really liked it at the time, but this song grew on me more and more as I got older and understood more about relationships. It’s a song where the speaker realizes that they want to be more than friends with the person they’re interested in, and they can’t “fight this feeling anymore.”

Savage Garden – “Truly Madly Deeply”: This was the third single from the duo’s 1997 self-titled album, and it became a number one hit in the United States. It’s a song where the speaker is affirming their devotion to their significant other, and it’s done in such a way that it isn’t overly sappy or cheesy.

Leave a Reply

