Song Review: Sweet Sensation – “Love Child”

“Love Child” was released as the lead-off single for Sweet Sensation’s 1990 album of the same name. The single was released in 1990 and peaked at number 13 on the Billboard Hot 100.

I was 14 years old and in the ninth grade when this single was released. Prior to this single, I was familiar with three singles from the trio’s previous album: “Sincerely Yours,” “Hooked On You,” and “Never Let You Go.” When I heard Sweet Sensation’s cover of this classic Motown song by The Supremes for the first time, I absolutely fell in love with it. In fact, I would say it would have ranked up there among my favorite dance songs of 1990. Now that I’m older, I realize that in a lot of respects, the music sounds a little too “happy” for the lyrics that accompany it. However, I still think that Betty LeBron delivers some passionate vocals that convey the seriousness of the song’s message.

The music video starts out showing some teenagers heading off to school, and for a lot of the video, we see the trio dancing in the school hallway. Near the end, the girls are in different outfits and appear to be dancing in an open space. The lighting for this video is kind of interesting, because there seems to be a bluish tint going throughout the video. I kind of remember noticing the bluish tint at the time, but it feels more pronounced now. Both the trio and the teenagers in the video definitely look as if they walked straight out of 1990, so the video looks rather dated. Oh well.

Leave a Reply

