Song Review: Heart – “All I Wanna Do Is Make Love to You”

“All I Wanna Do Is Make Love to You” was released as the lead-off single from Heart’s 1990 album, Brigade. The single was released on March 14, 1990, and peaked at number two on the Billboard Hot 100 chart.

I was in the ninth grade, and just about to turn 15 when this single was released. I liked Heart’s material from the mid-to-late 1980s, so I was excited to hear that they were releasing a new song. Musically, it wasn’t what I was expecting, but I still thought it sounded great. But I think what attracted me the most to this song is the fact that the lyrics tell a story (what I refer to as a “story song”). By 1990, “story songs” weren’t being released as much, so that helped to make “All I Wanna Do Is Make Love to You” stand out. The story of the song tells about a young woman who has a one-night stand with a good-looking young man, with the intent of trying to become pregnant because the man she’s in love with is unable to father children.

The music video intercuts footage of the band performing with footage that tells the story of the song. This video is rather well done, and it almost has a film-like quality to it. I watched the video right before writing this up, and it’d been several years since I had last seen it. I was very pleased to discover that it really doesn’t look that dated and that it still holds up just as well as it did 25 years ago.

Leave a Reply

