Song Review: The U-Krew – “If You Were Mine”

“If You Were Mine” was released as a single from The U-Krew’s 1989 self-titled debut album. The single was released in late 1989/early 1990 and peaked at number 21 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart.

While my local pop radio station didn’t play this particular song in its regular rotation, I heard it when it was part of Rick Dees’ syndicated Top 40 countdown show when my local station aired it on Sunday mornings. I think what grabbed me about this song was its music, because it was rather catchy. It’s one of those songs that you just have to move to when you hear it. Lyrically, it wasn’t anything special, but the music made up for that weakness. While I may not like this song quite as much as I did when I was 14 years old, I don’t see it as a terrible song.

I didn’t see the music video for this song at the time it was released, because MTV didn’t play it in the network’s regular rotation. So I saw this video for the first time recently on YouTube; after seeing it, I’m glad I didn’t see it at the time, because it might have turned me off to the song. Oh my God, this video is just so cheesy! Very cheap looking effects, and the video seems to reuse a bit of footage. Also, who told these guys that they looked good dressed in all zebra print? I’m sorry, but all that zebra print just adds to the cheesiness factor for this video. Yeah, this video looks incredibly dated and just didn’t pass the test of time. I can see why MTV didn’t play it during the network’s regular rotation at the time.

Leave a Reply

