Song Review: Expose – “Your Baby Never Looked Good In Blue”

“Your Baby Never Looked Good In Blue” was released as the fourth single from Expose’s 1989 album, What You Don’t Know. The single was released in March 1990 and peaked at number 17 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart.

I was in the ninth grade and about to turn 15 years old when this single was released. I really loved the simplicity of this song, especially the musical arrangement. The lyrics are from the point of view of someone who has learned their lover is rumored to have found someone new. While I hadn’t been in a relationship at that point in my life, I could still understand and feel the emotion of the song. The vocal performance also helped to reinforce the emotional aspect of the song.

MTV never aired a music video for this song when it was on the charts, so I assumed for many years that it never had one. So I was surprised to discover on YouTube that an official video was actually made. I suspect that Night Tracks may have aired it at the time, but someone I managed to miss seeing it on there. The video is pretty simplistic, and it combines performance footage of the trio with behind-the-scenes shots of the girls on tour. This leads me to believe that they were on tour at the time this single was released and couldn’t fit in an actual video shoot into their touring schedule. The video isn’t bad for what it is.

Leave a Reply

