Song Review: Giant – “I’ll See You In My Dreams”

“I’ll See You In My Dreams” was released as the third single from Giant’s 1989 album, Last of the Runaways. The single was released in 1990 and peaked at number 20 on the Billboard Hot 100. “I’ll See You In My Dreams” was the band’s biggest hit.

I was in the ninth grade and had just turned 15 when this single was released. I didn’t have much familiarity with the band before hearing this song, but I fell in love with it rather quickly. When the song really gets going, it becomes rather intense, both in its music and in its vocal delivery. Dann Huff’s vocals really work for this song, and you can hear the emotion he puts into it. I also think the theme of the song, which is about remembering someone from your past, resonates with so many people.

The music video for this song was very well done. It starts with an old woman sitting down in front of house, reminiscing on the past. This is intercut with her memories that take place in the house that she sits in front of, as well as with footage of the band performing inside the house. It’s interesting to note that the scenes that take place in the present (the old woman reminiscing and the band performing) are shot in black and white, while the flashback scenes are in color. This is the opposite of what you normally expect, but I think this worked really well for the video. From the costumes and hairstyles that appear in the flashback portions, I assume this takes place either in the later 1940s or the early 1950s. Knowing that the present would have been late 1989/early 1990 and seeing how old the woman in the current time is, I think that guess would be about right.

Leave a Reply

