Song Review: Phil Collins – “Do You Remember?”

“Do You Remember?” was released as a single from Phil Collins’ 1989 album, … But Seriously. The single was released in the United States on April 26, 1990, and it peaked at number four on the Billboard Hot 100 chart.

I was 15 years old and in the ninth grade when this single was released. I’d already liked the previous two singles I’d heard from this album, so it was no surprise that I fell in love with this one as well. The lyrics are very relatable, and the musical arrangement really underscores the emotion that Phil puts into his performance. “Do You Remember?” still ranks up there as one of my favorite songs of all-time by Phil Collins.

The music video is primarily a flashback that Phil has as he’s performing in the studio, which appears to be set in either the late 1950s or early 1960s. The flashback features two children, and it’s a story of first love and first heartbreak. As a teenager, I could totally relate with what the kids in the video were going through, and I’ve always thought it was a really sweet story. Admittedly, the setup to get into the flashback is a little odd, but the flashback portion is so enjoyable that it’s easy to overlook the strange setup. I have to admit that the story of this video tugs at my heartstrings now just as much as it did 25 years ago.

Leave a Reply

