Song Review: Alannah Myles – “Love Is”

“Love Is” was released as a single from Alannah Myles’ self-titled 1989 album. The single peaked at number 36 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart.

Back when I wrote about “Black Velvet” a few months back, I had mentioned that the song hadn’t grabbed me when it had first come out, and that it had grown on me later, “Love Is” ended up being a different story. Unlike “Black Velvet,” “Love Is” was a much more pop-friendly song and I thought it was catchy. I also thought then, and I still do now, that “Love Is” also had a great vibe for a summer song, since the song would be peaking on the charts during the summer months.

Unfortunately, radio programmers and the listening public in the United States didn’t share my opinion of “Love Is.” Since “Black Velvet,” which was a very blues-oriented song, became a big breakout hit for Alannah Myles, people were wanting another “Black Velvet” out of her. But “Love Is” was as far away from “Black Velvet” as you could possibly get, which I believe ended up disappointing people at the time.

Of course, the music video for “Love Is” probably didn’t help matters. I re-watched it for the first time in nearly 25 years before writing this piece, and I saw just how cheap it looked. It also didn’t help that there were shots of an ostrich and other animals intercut throughout the video which seemed to have nothing to do with the song. All in all, it was a rather unimpressive music video.

Leave a Reply

