Song Review: Tommy Page – “When I Dream of You”

“When I Dream of You” was released as a single from Tommy Page’s 1990 album, Paintings in My Mind. The song peaked at number 42 on the Billboard Hot 100.

I was 15 years old and finishing up the ninth grade when this single was released. I admit that I didn’t like his previous single, “I’ll Be Your Everything.” It may have been a number one song, but I just thought he sounded rather whiny in it. So I was actually caught off-guard the first time that I heard “When I Dream of You.” It was hard to believe these songs were performed by the same person. I actually liked this song a lot, and was quite disappointed by how it performed on the charts at the time. Looking back now, I can see why it had faltered. It didn’t entirely fit with what was going on at pop radio at the time, and it didn’t have the direct helping hand of members of New Kids on the Block behind it. I honestly believe the fact that New Kids on the Block played such a major role in “I’ll Be Your Everything” that it was so successful.

The music video really isn’t much to write home about. It relies a lot of showing footage in slow motion, which was becoming popular to do in music videos in the late 1980s and early 1990s. There’s also an attempt at telling a story and intercutting it with footage of Tommy lip-synching, but the story feels rather disjointed. Perhaps this was done as an effect to symbolize how disjointed memories can be, but in the end, it didn’t really help the video out that much. It’s not necessarily a bad music video, but it’s not a great one, either.

Leave a Reply

