Song Review: Elton John – “Club At the End of the Street”

“Club At the End of the Street” was released as the third single from Elton John’s 1989 album, Sleeping With the Past. The single was released in 1990, and peaked at number 28 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart.

I was 15 years old and finishing up the ninth grade when this single was released. I enjoyed Elton’s music at the time, so it’s really not surprising that I liked “Club At the End of the Street” when I heard it. And being an uptempo number allowed it to grab me a little faster. It definitely had a summer vibe to it, so it’s a little disappointing that the song didn’t perform better on the pop chart. But looking back now, I can see that while “Club At the End of the Street” is a great song, it didn’t entirely fit in with what was popular on the pop chart at the time. But it’s a song that’s withstood the test of time, and I enjoy just as much now as I did 15 years ago.

The music video is completely animated, which was rather unusual. Paula Abdul’s “Opposites Attract” from a few months earlier was partially animated, and a-ha’s “Take On Me” from five years earlier had rotoscoped sections, but I really can’t recall a completely animated music video prior to this one. If any exist, I’m not aware of them.

I think the animation style used for the video worked well for the type of feel that the animator was going for with the setting. And the animation seemed to work well with the song.

One thought on “Song Review: Elton John – “Club At the End of the Street”

Leave a Reply

