Song Review: del Amitri – “Kiss This Thing Goodbye”

“Kiss This Thing Goodbye” was released as a single from del Amitri’s 1989 album, Waking Hours. It was originally released in 1989 but failed to chart. However, the single was reissued in 1990, it peaked at number 35 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart.

I don’t remember this song from when it was released in 1989, but I remember it from its re-release in 1990. I have to admit that at first, I wasn’t too sure about the song. It was one of those songs that had to grow on me with repeated listens. It’s a nice song, but I can see why it never became a big hit in the United States. It definitely didn’t fit what was going on with mainstream pop in 1989, and it only kind of fit with pop in 1990. It’s a good song, but it just wasn’t quite commercial enough.

I found the original UK video for “Kiss This Thing Goodbye” on YouTube. I don’t remember seeing the video that was shot for the re-release in the United States, so this is all I have to go by. It’s a rather standard late 1980s/early 1990s music video. It uses the slowed down footage and various perception tricks that were relatively common in music videos then. It’s not a bad video, but there’s nothing terribly special about it, either.

Leave a Reply

