Song Review: Babyface – “My Kinda Girl”

“My Kinda Girl” was released as the fourth and final single from Babyface’s 1989 album, Tender Lover. The single was released on May 29, 1990 and peaked at number 30 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart.

I really liked “My Kinda Girl” the first time I heard it on the radio. It had been a while since Babyface had released the uptempo “It’s No Crime,” so I liked hearing another uptempo song from him. Also, the single version of the song is very catchy. It actually surprises me that it didn’t perform better on the charts, because it seemed to fit in well with what was being released at the time. All I can figure is that this was the fourth single from the album, and perhaps radio programmers weren’t as willing to program it for whatever reason.

The music video for “My Kinda Girl” is rather simplistic, but it works for the song. A lot of the time, Babyface is by himself lip-syncing the song, but there the occasional shots of Babyface interacting with his girl. It’s not a bad video, but there’s not much to make it stand out, either.

Leave a Reply

