Song Review: Heart – “I Didn’t Want to Need You”

“I Didn’t Want to Need You” was released as the second single from Heart’s 1990 album, Brigade. The single was released in July 1990, and peaked at number at number 23 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart.

I was 15 years old, and was enjoying my summer vacation between 9th and 10th grade when this single was released. I loved Heart, so it’s not surprising that I ended up liking this song. It was uptempo and rather catchy, and I thought it had a memorable hook. Back in 1990, I was surprised by how this song performed on the pop chart, because I was so sure it would have performed better than it did. Unfortunately, it didn’t have controversy behind it, which is what I think ultimately helped the previous single, “All I Wanna Do Is Make Love to You,” perform as well as it did. I still enjoy this song 25 years later, and wish that pop radio programmers and listeners would have been more willing to give “I Didn’t Want to Need You” more of a chance.

The music video for the song is primarily concert footage, although there are the occasional backstage shots, as well an the inexplicable inclusion of someone riding a jet ski. The video is nothing spectacular, so I wonder if that may have affected the song’s performance. It’s not a bad video, but there was really nothing that made it stand out.

Leave a Reply

