Song Review: Poison – “Unskinny Bop”

“Unskinny Bop” was released as the lead-off single from Poison’s 1990 album, Flesh & Blood. The single was released on June 27, 1990, and peaked at number three on the Billboard Hot 100.

I was 15 years old and just finishing up the ninth grade when this single was released. I really liked Poison’s previous album, so I was excited when I heard a new song from them. It was boppy and fun, which appealed to me at 15 years old. I have to admit that, 25 years later, I don’t like “Unskinny Bop” was much as I did when I was a teenager. To me, the song hasn’t held up as well over the years as a lot of their other songs, and it comes across as being on the cheesy side now that I’m an adult.

The music video for “Unskinny Bop” is basically a performance clip, although the director tried to do a couple of things to liven it up. The CG graphics that appear a couple of times in this video may have looked more impressive in 1990, but looking at it now, they really didn’t add much to the footage. There was also an attempt to show one portion in reverse after seeing it; but that only happened once, so it just looks out of place. But you have to give Bret and the other guys some credit, though, because they look like they’re having fun.

Leave a Reply

