Song Review: Jon Bon Jovi – “Blaze of Glory”

“Blaze of Glory” was released as a single from the soundtrack of Young Guns II. The single was released on July 21, 1990, and peaked at number one on the Billboard Hot 100 chart.

I was 15 years old and enjoying the summer between 9th and 10th grade when this song was released. I really liked Bon Jovi at the time, so I was intrigued to hear a solo song by Jon Bon Jovi. “Blaze of Glory” didn’t disappoint, and I fell in love with the song. While it’s reminiscent of Bon Jovi’s “Wanted Dead or Alive,” it still had its own identity. I really liked how this song was able to seamlessly go from being quiet to loud, as well as how the song builds in intensity. I just listened to the song again right before writing up this post, and I have to say that “Blaze of Glory” has held up well over time. It may be 25 years later, but I enjoy this song now just as much as I did when I was 15.

The music video has some very stunning landscape shots in it, which is intercut between Jon Bon Jovi performing the song and scenes from Young Guns II. Since Jon is performing at an old and abandoned drive-in, it gave the director an interesting way to include some of the movie footage. It’s not a bad video for what it is.

Leave a Reply

