Song Review: Maxi Priest – “Close To You”

“Close To You” was released as the lead-off single from Maxi Priest’s 1990 album, Bonafide. The single was released on July 8, 1990, and peaked at number one on the Billboard Hot 100 chart.

I was 15 and enjoying the summer between 9th and 10th grade when this single was released. The first time I heard this song, it grabbed me right away. It had a unique sound that made it stand out from other songs being released at the same time, but it was still very pop friendly. I think what also helped this song for me, as well as for the pop music audience of the time, was the fact that the lyrics are so relatable. Even 25 years later, I still enjoy this song as much as I did when I was a teenager.

There were two music videos released for “Close To You.” The first version shows Maxi Priest lip-syncing the song with an Egyptian setting in the background. The second version shows Maxi Priest lip-syncing the song on a soundstage. Personally, I like the Egyptian themed video more. I especially like the lighting and how there’s almost a exotic atmosphere to the video. I think the Egyptian video also captures the feel of the song more than the other one does.

Leave a Reply

