Song Review: Paul Young – “Oh Girl”

“Oh Girl,” a cover of a 1970s song by The Chi-Lutes, was released as a single from Paul Young’s 1990 album, Other Voices. Paul’s rendition peaked at number eight on the Billboard Hot 100.

I was 15 years old and enjoying the summer between 9th and 10th grade when “Oh Girl” was released. I recognized Paul Young from his mid-1980’s hit, “Everytime You Go Away,” so I was willing to give “Oh Girl” a chance. I liked the song, even though at the time I wasn’t aware that it was a cover. Even after hearing the original version by The Chi-Lites a few years later, I still enjoy Paul Young’s cover.

I didn’t see the music video at the time the song was popular 25 years ago, because MTV didn’t play it. It likely got good airplay on VH1, but my local cable company hadn’t added VH1 at that point. So I just saw it for the first time right before typing up this post. It’s a rather simple music video, intercutting footage of Paul Young lip-syncing the song with other footage. It’s not a bad video for what it is. And to be honest, for the type of song “Oh Girl” is, I don’t think the director could have done much of anything different for the video.

Leave a Reply

