Song Review: Dino – “Romeo”

“Romeo” was the lead-off single from Dino’s 1990 album, Swingin’. The single was released on September 7, 1990, and peaked at number 6 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart.

I was 15 years old and just starting the 10th grade when this single was released. I fell in love with this song the first time I heard it, and I think that was due to its catchy beat and lyrics that could make any female listener think Dino was crooning especially for them. I have to admit that, 25 years later, I don’t like the song nearly as much as I did when I was 15. I still think it’s got a great beat, but the lyrics just aren’t doing much for me now. It’s one of those songs that just didn’t withstand the test of time.

Although I have to say that the song managed to withstand the test of time a little better than the music video. The fashion and cinematography choices for the video date this video. Anyone can view it and immediately tell that it came from the early 1990s. And the music video is rather cheesy as well.

Leave a Reply

