Song Review: After 7 – “Can’t Stop”

“Can’t Stop” was released as a single from After 7’s 1989 self-titled album. The single was release on May 16, 1990, and peaked at number six on the Billboard Hot 100 chart.

I was 15 years old and finishing up the ninth grade when this single was released. Even though the single was released in May, I didn’t actually start hearing it on the radio until over the summer. “Can’t Stop” allowed me to hear a different side of After 7, since the only other song I had heard from prior to that was the previous single, “Ready or Not.” While “Ready or Not” was a ballad, “Can’t Stop” was a much more uptempo number. I liked this song the first time I heard it, and I think that was due in large part to how catchy this song is musically. While I still enjoy the song 25 years later, I have to admit that I don’t like it quite as much as I did back then. It’s not a bad song, but it doesn’t stand out quite as much now to me as it did when I was 15.

The music video is a rather standard for R&B, except for the fact that there were times that the director would change the speed of the footage or pause the footage briefly. These effects were kind of interesting when they first showed up, but they ended up being overused in the video and stood out too much. I couldn’t help but think that the director found a new toy in the editing bay and decided to use it. Unfortunately, the fashion in this video, especially the clothing worn by the members of After 7, date this video. In the end, it’s a video that really didn’t withstand the test of time.

Leave a Reply

