Song Review: Depeche Mode – “Policy of Truth”

“Policy of Truth” was released as the third single from Depeche Mode’s 1990 album, Violator. The single was released on May 7, 1990, and peaked at number 15 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart.

I was 15 years old and enjoying the summer between 9th and 10th grade when I first heard “Policy of Truth” on the radio. It wasn’t surprising to me that I liked the song the moment I heard it, since I had enjoyed the previous two singles from the album. There’s just something about the musical arrangement that made it stand out; however, it didn’t stand out so much that it didn’t fit in with what was going on in pop music at the time. I also found the lyrics to be relatable. I still enjoy this song now as much as I did when I first heard it about 25 years ago.

The music video tries to tell a story, but I’ve never been convinced that the story is conveyed as well as it could have been. But this is a video directed by Anton Corbijn, and I have yet to see a video of his that has truly made much sense. But even with its faults, the look and cinematography still manage complement the song.

Leave a Reply

