Song Review: Pebbles – “Giving You the Benefit”

“Giving You the Benefit” was released as the lead-off single from Pebbles’ 1990 album, Always. The single was released in August 1990, and peaked at number four on the Billboard Hot 100.

I was 15 years old and enjoying the summer between 9th and 10th grade when “Giving You the Benefit” was released. I’d heard a couple of songs by Pebbles back in the late 1980s that I enjoyed, so I was definitely open to giving a new song by her a chance. After hearing “Giving You the Benefit” for the first time, I fell in love with the attitude in the song’s lyrics. The fact that the song also had a catchy beat that you could dance to also helped it to appeal to me. I still enjoy the song 25 years later, and it’s my favorite song by Pebbles.

The music video appears to be showing Pebbles at a photo shoot of some kind and lip-syncing the lyrics. There’s no attempt at trying to tel la story or anything, though. It’s basically a lot of shots of Pebbles in different outfits and on different sets as she lip-syncs. It’s not a bad video, though, and it works for what the director was going for.

Leave a Reply

