Song Review: Breathe – “Say A Prayer”

“Say a Prayer” was released as the lead-off single in the United States for Breathe’s 1990 album, Peace of Mind. The single peaked at number 21 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart.

I was 15 years old and heading into the 10th grade when “Say a Prayer” was released. I had enjoyed the singles from Breathe’s previous album, All That Jazz, so I was very interested the first time I heard “Say a Prayer” by Breathe played on the radio. While it still had the soft, adult contemporary sound that I expected from the band, there was still something different about it. On “Say a Prayer,” you can hear the light jazz influence mixed with the pop and soul much more easily than you could on the first album. While it sounded noticeably different, I still enjoyed “Say a Prayer.” It had a upbeat and happy feel about it, which really fit with the mood I was in at the time, which was the sense of optimism I was feeling as I was heading off to my first year in high school (back then, it was a three-year high school). I was a little disappointed at the time that “Say a Prayer” didn’t perform better on the charts, but looking back now, I can hear why. It’s a good song, but it just didn’t entirely fit with the sound that was popular in pop music at that time.

I watched the video for “Say a Prayer” shortly before working on this review, since I don’t recall MTV playing it all that much at the time that the song was being promoted. After watching it, I can say that it really wasn’t all that memorable. It features the band lip-syncing the song, intercut with footage of a woman doing various things. The video itself was also full of many tropes of music videos from the early 1990s, such as shot composition, lighting, editing, and cinematography. “Say a Prayer” was a good song that got saddled with a forgettable music video.

Leave a Reply

