Song Review: Black Box – “Everybody Everybody”

“Everybody Everybody” was released as a single from Black Box’s 1990 album, Dreamland. The single was released in 1990 and peaked at number eight on the Billboard Hot 100 chart.

I was 15 years old and just starting my sophomore year of high school when I first heard this song. I thought the song was very catchy musically, even if it was rather repetitive lyrically. But considering it’s a dance song, I was willing to overlook the lyrical repetition. It sounded a little different than what I was used to from other dance music that I heard on pop radio, but it was what made it sound different that caught my attention. Admittedly, the song sounds rather dated today, but it’s still a dance song that I enjoy listening to.

Unfortunately for Black Box, they got caught up in the Martha Wash scandal that rocked the dance music community in 1990. Like with Seduction and C + C Music Factory, Wash’s vocals on this song were not credited, and someone else was shown on the album cover art and in the music video. Martha Wash was guaranteed proper credit on recordings in a 1990 settlement with RCA Records.

I watched the music video for the first time in a number of years before writing this up. The music video is what I like to refer to as a “club video.” What I mean by that is that the music video was made with a dance club audience in mind, and really wasn’t made with the intention of someone sitting at home and watching it on MTV or something. The video looks cheaply made, utilizes cheap-looking effects, and is rather uninteresting to watch. It also doesn’t help that the clothes in the video really date it. The song’s pretty good, but it’s saddled with a rather unimpressive music video.

Leave a Reply

