Song Review: The Adventures of Stevie V – “Dirty Cash (Money Talks)”

“Dirty Cash (Money Talks)” was released as a single from The Adventures of Stevie V’s 1990 album, Adventures of Stevie V. The single was released in 1990, and peaked at number 25 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart.

I was 15 years old and starting into my sophomore years of high school when “Dirty Cash (Money Talks)” was released as a single in the United States. I have to admit that at the time, this particular song didn’t do much of anything for me. I didn’t like it, but I didn’t exactly hate it, either. When it fell off the pop chart, I didn’t hear it again until several years later, after I’d moved over to the Seattle area and heard it on KNHC. I was around my mid-20’s at that point, and I realized that the song was better than I thought it was back when I was 15. I think that was due to my music horizons being broadened in the intervening years, and how I gained a better appreciation for some styles of music that I didn’t pay much attention to when I was a teenager. I just want to add that I think the saxophone bits that appear in this song help to raise it to “the next level”; without that, there wouldn’t have been much to make this song stand out from other dance songs that came out during that time period.

I re-watched the music video for “Dirty Cash (Money Talks)” shortly before writing this up. This is another video that I would call a “club video”; basically, the director went into it making a video meant to be shown in dance clubs and likely not being actively watched by people at home on MTV. There’s a lot of reused footage, and the overall quality of the video looks rather cheap. It also suffers from looking rather “dated” now, especially the hairstyles and clothing of the males that appear in the video.

Leave a Reply

