Song Review: Alias – “More Than Words Can Say”

“More Than Words Can Say” was released as the lead-off single from Alias’ self-titled album from 1990. The single was released on September 8, 1990, and peaked at number two on the Billboard Hot 100 chart.

I was 15 years old and just starting out my sophomore year of high school when this single was released. When it was played on the radio, it was mentioned that the lead singer of Alias, Freddy Curci, had been the lead singer of Sheriff (a band whose song “When I’m With You” had been a hit in early 1989). I loved “When I’m With You,” so I was more than willing to give “More Than Words Can Say” a chance. I’m glad I did, because I fell in love with the song the very first time that I heard it. There was just something about it that resonated with me when I was 15 years old, and I think it had to do with the sincerity that Freddy put into his vocal performance. The musical arrangement that accompanies that performance also perfectly captured the sense of longing that the lyrics convey. “More Than Words Can Say” is a song I still love a little over 25 years later. To be honest, I really don’t think that the song sounds terribly dated, and it resonates just as well now as it did back in 1990.

The music video for “More Than Words Can Say” is primarily Alias performing the song in some kind of a room, with an occasional shot of a woman intercut (with one of the shots showing the woman and Freddy together). When I re-watched the video for the first time in a number of years right before I wrote this up, I found myself wishing that more of a storyline had been developed between Freddy and the woman, and that less time had been used on the band’s performance. It feels like there should be more to that storyline than what we see, and I feel a little cheated that we never got to see more of what went on between them. It’s not a bad video for what it is, but I do think it could have been a little stronger.

Leave a Reply

