Song Review: Mariah Carey – “Love Takes Time”

“Love Takes Time” was released as the second single from Mariah Carey’s 1990 self-titled album. The single was released on September 11, 1990, and peaked at number one on the Billboard Hot 100 chart.

I was 15 years old and just starting my sophomore year of high school when “Love Takes Time” was released. The first time I heard this song on the radio, I was simply blown away. While I enjoyed “Vision of Love,” this song made me gain even more appreciation for Mariah Carey. I fell in love with this song instantly, and it still remains one of my favorite Mariah Carey songs of all-time. I think what really makes this song stand out are the simplistic musical arrangement, the relatable nature of the song’s lyrics, and Mariah’s delivery of the lyrics. It’s definitely a song that resonated with me when I was 15 years old, and I have to say that I appreciate this song now just as much as I did when it first came out around 25 years ago.

The music video for “Love Takes Time” is on the simplistic side, but that fits in with the simplistic arrangement of the song. I think the director made a great choice filming it in black and white, because I think the black and white helps to accentuate the emotion behind the song. I don’t think a color video would have worked nearly as effectively. I also find it believable that Mariah would be strolling along the beach like she does in the video after a breakup. And to me, the video for “Love Takes Time” proves that you can make an effective music video without having to rely on effects and gimmicks.

Leave a Reply

