Song Review: Hall & Oates – “So Close”

“So Close” was released as the lead-off single from Hall & Oates’ 1990 album, Change of Season. The single was released on September 17, 1990, and peaked at number 11 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart.

I was 15 years old and just starting my sophomore year of high school when “So Close” was released. It had been about two years since Hall & Oates had released anything new, and since I had enjoyed a lot of their previous material, I was very interested in hearing what they had to offer. I loved “So Close” the first time I heard it. The music grabbed my attention immediately, and I thought the lyrics about couples that have stopped communicating was very relatable. It’s been a little over 25 years since “So Close” was released, and I enjoy this song just as much as I did when I was 15. In a lot of ways, I think I can appreciate this song more now than I could then, thanks to having experienced more of life in the intervening years.

The music video for “So Close” is in black and white, and it’s more on the simplistic side. The primary focus of the video is on Daryl Hall and John Oates lip-syncing the song, with occasional other footage cut in. These images are kind of related to the various stories shared in the verses, but I look at them as more “abstract representations” of the stories rather than as actual representations, especially since some of the footage is reused during some of the choruses. It’s not a bad music video for what it is, and I think that was the best way to handle it since there’s not just one linear story being told through the song.

Leave a Reply

