Song Review: Deee-lite – “Groove Is in the Heart”

“Groove Is in the Heart” was released as the lead-off single from Deee-lite’s 1990 album, World Clique. The single was released in August 1990, and peaked at number four on the Billboard Hot 100 chart.

I was 15 years old and just starting out my sophomore year of high school when I first heard this song. At the time, I absolutely hated it and thought it was one of the worst I’d ever heard. That was probably due, in large part, to the fact that between my local Top 40 station and MTV, I just couldn’t get away from it. I was so happy when the song finished its run on the charts and wasn’t being played in regular rotation anymore. But fast forward a couple of years later, after I broadened my horizons when it came to music, and I heard “Groove Is in the Heart” again in recurrent airplay. I realized that the song wasn’t as bad as I thought it was. In fact, I found that I actually really liked it. It’s too bad I hadn’t given it more of a chance back in 1990. And looking at Wikipedia right before I started writing this, I learned that this song is actually made up of quite a few samples. Wow… I hadn’t realized just how sample heavy “Groove Is in the Heart” really is.

The music video is, for the lack of a better term, trippy. It relies on psychedelic images playing on a blue or green screen in the background, and everyone in the video is wearing clothes that would’ve fit right in back in the late 1960s and early 1970s. It’s definitely a very memorable video, and once you see it, you’ll never forget it. I say this video looks dated, but not because it obviously looks like it came out in the early 1990s. Instead, I say it looks dated because it looks like it should have come straight out of the late 1960s!

Leave a Reply

