Song Review: Poison – “Something to Believe In”

“Something to Believe In” was released as the second single from their 1990 album, Flesh & Blood. The single was released on September 4, 1990, and peaked at number four on the Billboard Hot 100 chart.

I was 15 years old and just starting my sophomore year of high school when “Something to Believe In” was released. I’d been a fan of Poison’s power ballads on their previous two albums, but there was something different about this power ballad that just moved me. Even though I was 15 years old at the time, I could still sense and understand the melancholy tone of the lyrics and relate to it. “Something to Believe In” was released during a time when war was starting to look imminent in Iraq, and people in the United States were starting to feel the confusion and despair that comes across in the song. Looking back now, I honestly believe that this song marked an important turning point for the band’s sound. And I can say over 25 years later, I enjoy this song as much, if not more, than at the time it was being promoted as a single. Now that I’m older and have experienced more of life, I can truly understand where the band was coming from when they wrote this song. Also, I can easily say that “Something to Believe In” is my all-time favorite song by Poison.

The music video perfectly captures the mood of the song. There’s footage being shown to illustrate each verse of the song as Bret Michael lip-syncs the song. This becomes very powerful in the verse where Bret sings about the death of his best friend. During filming, footage of Bret’s friend was screened, and you can just see Bret stop lip-syncing and trying to hold back tears. To me, that’s probably one of the most memorable and most powerful shots in the entire video. Personally, I believe that “Something to Believe In” the best music video that Poison ever released.

Leave a Reply

