Song Review: The Human League – “Heart Like a Wheel”

“Heart Like a Wheel” was released as the first single from The Human League’s 1990 album, Romantic? The single was released on August 6, 1990, and peaked at number 32 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart.

I was 15 years old and just about to start my sophomore year of high school when “Heart Like a Wheel” was released. I knew The Human League from the song “Human,” which had been popular just a few years earlier, so I was quite surprised to hear an upbeat song coming out of them. But I fell in love with “Heart Like a Wheel” the very first time that I heard it. I think what ultimately grabbed me was the musical arrangement and the lyrics. It may now be over 25 years since I first heard “Heart Like a Wheel,” but I enjoy it just as much now as I did back then. While some of the songs from this time period sound dated in a cringe-worthy sort of way, this song doesn’t. I can’t quite say that it doesn’t sound dated, but it’s nowhere near as obvious as other songs that were popular at the same time.

The music video for “Heart Like a Wheel” is rather simplistic, and it relies heavily on having various wheels appearing in the shots. It’s not necessarily a bad music video, but there’s nothing to truly make it stand out, either. It’s not bad for what it’s trying to accomplish, though.

Leave a Reply

